Transitions

So, here we are again. The roses are exploding in the garden. The lavender stalks are reaching for the sky and the fruit trees have already bloomed and dropped their flowers. I can’t believe that we are here for yet another spring, and a summer and probably just one more autumn. I know I said this last year, that it was our last spring, and I should soak up all of the blooming roses and the festivals and the pollen and the crazy bursts of chilly storms. But, here we are again. Another spring, and another summer. Believe me, I am very happy to be here. I can’t imagine saying goodbye at this point. I have such deep roots here now. Not just with friends, but with familiar experiences and just the knowledge of what will happen now, when the seasons change. I know that when ski season is over, we will put away our coats and get ready for spring and vide grenier (spring cleaning, garage sale) season, which will quickly turn into summer season.

I can’t believe that we are already so close to the end of the school year. I see that people in the states are already heading into graduations. It’s crazy! How does the year fly by so fast?

I still get the constant “when are you leaving?” or “what are your plans?” questions. These are like nails on a chalkboard to me. I don’t want to think about it. I don’t want to deal with it. I’m happy shuttling my two kids to school and activities and back, keeping the fridge stocked and the laundry folded and put away, I just don’t want to think of it.

It is going to be a big change for us. I’m just trying to live in the moment right now. I’m not thinking about those days that are barreling towards us. Within months really. Only two more seasons to go. I know I said this last year, but really, this is it. The curtains are coming down on this amazing adventure we have had. But I’m not giving up yet. I’m going to enjoy every day, even when I’m super annoyed and want to drive far away from the normality of it all. I’m going to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

