July 25, 2014

Kinnerly is sitting on the big leather couch, her tanned little body all curled up in the corner. She is eating a sweet and sour piece of candy. You know, those ones covered in sugar and sour, more sweet than sour, but all over delicious? It is one of the multi-colored “rainbow candies” as we call it. It is like a flat piece of leather with 5 colors stuck together. She pulls each color apart and sucks the sugar off first and then eats the fruity candy part. She eats the last color and says “mommy, look, my hands are all covered in sugar!”

I say, “yep, they sure are! Run to the bathroom and wash them off please.”

She says, “but mommy, I like to lick the sugar off of them!”

I think about it for a few seconds and say “ok, go ahead, lick the sugar off and then go wash your hands, ok?”

She starts to clean her hands like a little kitty, making this noise that reminds me of when she was a teeny tiny infant, when I used to feed her bottles in the middle of the night in the dark of the living room. It’s hard to explain, but it is a little smacking noise, a little noise only I can really notice her making, almost in her throat after she licks the sugar off her hands. She keeps licking until all the little glittery specks of sugar are gone. She shows me both hands and says “look mommy! All gone!”

Then she says, “I just LOOOOOVVVVE those rainbow candies mommy, can I have another one?”

I can’t say no. It’s just a little candy.

These little guys are growing up so fast it is heartbreaking to watch. I took Brannan to a dentist appointment today for a cleaning and as we were walking to the car he said, “Mom, that teeth cleaning was so powerful I think it knocked my tastebugs right out of my mouth!” I laughed in my head and didn’t bother to correct him on that one. It was just too dang cute!

IMG_1192

Leave a Reply

