Messes

Our living room looks like 3 people have been having drinks and snacks and colds for the past week. The floor is littered with used tissues and dolls and video games and puzzle pieces that I am too lazy to pick up. Because, in fact, we all are sick. 

I am finally getting over the worst of it, although I still can’t taste a single thing but now the kids have finally developed the annoying cough that brought me to tears days ago. The cough was so bad that I walked into the pharmacy and said in my most broken French that I need the strongest cough medicine they had. They gave me lozenges and syrup, I drank a couple of swigs and then continued to cough so hard that I threw it all up. It was terrible. I haven’t even told you how it all started – with the 102.5 degree fever on Sunday night that had me freezing and burning up at the same time. 

It was really really hard to get out of bed this past week to get Brannan to school. It is still hard to get much done. I’ve barely had the energy to make dinner every night. I really have been trying hard for the kids though. They weren’t as sick as I was at the beginning of the week so I tried to make balanced meals for them. Tonight has shown the decline though. Brannan had cereal and Kinnerly had yogurt for dinner. Oh well. At least they were snacking on grapes and clementines all day. 

This illness that is sweeping the globe is insane! I know people here and in the states that have this illness. It isn’t fun and it isn’t quick either. It lingers on and on and I can’t wait to have my energy back. 

Until then, I’m going to try to clean a little bit before we all hit the sack tonight. 

3 thoughts on “Messes

Leave a Reply

