Back to it

We have started to get back into the swing of things – well, kind of!

I can’t believe it is already October, and I’m sure everyone is saying that too. Already, one month into school? I can’t believe it. Granted, September was really busy with my parents here and then my sister here as well. The kids have been having a blast with all these visitors and Brannan is over the moon that tomorrow his cousins arrive!!! Our Montana contingency will touch down tomorrow around noon (sans Uncle as it is their annual “hunting” trip). We are super excited and the fridge is full of brie and macarons and ice cream cones.

Anyway, Brannan is really liking school this year. I think he is in the equivalent of pre-school right now. I am not too sure that he would be starting Kindergarten in the states if we were there, but I’m ok with that. I think we are going to be dealing with quite a few issues with school grades once we get back to the states. Here in France, the smaller children don’t go to school on Wednesdays (or they can opt to go for the morning but it really is more of a daycare situation than proper school). It will be a challenge, especially with him being a bit bilingual. He is really starting to get it, which is pretty cool to see. He was just mucking around with his toys the other day and was singing some sort of song in French that I didn’t know. I asked him what it was and he just brushed me off, “oh, it’s just a song we sing in the French class mom.” Too funny.

He is taking Judo classes on Wednesdays (when he doesn’t have school). It is a nice thing to break up our day as it is at 12:30 and we don’t have to scramble to get out of bed and rush to school. He gets to wrestle with a bunch of other 5 year olds on a padded mat all dressed up in Judo gear. He totally digs it.

He made another “best friend” at school and his mom actually insisted she take Brannan home with her after Judo class this Wednesday so they could play together. I had the whole afternoon with just Kinnerly, an afternoon nap (for her), and some quiet time. It was great that she really insisted that she take him home. I don’t really trust too many people around here, but we went to her house for a playdate on Monday and she is only 8 minutes away from the house, so I didn’t feel too bad about it.

Otherwise, I need to post the pictures from our super fancy dinner that I took my sister out on for her birthday. She was here visiting and we went out on her last night at one of the Michelin-starred restaurants that is close to the house. It was fantastic.

More pics to come.

For now, I am off to bed as Auntie Sandi and the cousins arrive tomorrow!

One thought on “Back to it

Leave a Reply

