summer (no caps here, just wilting)

These days, the dog days of August in the South of France, the kids are barely clothed. Kinnerly is usually in a diaper, and only a diaper, because I frankly don’t have the energy to put clothes on the child. She doesn’t mind so much and doesn’t complain if I put her in a dress, but it usually comes off around 11am because we walk out back and jump in the pool. She has a tan shaped like an “X” down her little back from her swimsuit that most Europeans would be jealous of. Well, most Europeans wouldn’t have the “x”, but she has a tan nonetheless, regardless of the sunscreen I put on her. Brannan often just wears shorts and says he “doesn’t wear a tshirt because Daddy never wears a tshirt” – but I have to remind him that is only around the house – when we go to the grocery store or the boulangerie, we need to wear shirts and dresses.

It is so hot and humid these days I don’t even want to leave the house. I don’t even think I felt this lethargic in Arizona when it was 118 degrees. At least I could make a trip to Costco or to Fry’s without being drenched in sweat.

I think the humidity has me here. It isn’t much – not like the Florida humidity I experienced as a child – but it is noticeable – at least compared to the last couple of decades I’m used to in Arizona.

I don’t want to cook, or eat, really. I force myself to go into the kitchen to make the children lunches and dinners which usually consist of rolled up deli ham, yogurts, BabyBell cheeses and sliced melon.

I am really waiting for the next coulple of weeks. Weatherchannel.com says we are due for a “cool down”!

The portable AC units are working all day long and opening the doors at night really doesn’t even provide any relief.

Fall? Autumn?

Please? S’il vous plait?

One thought on “summer (no caps here, just wilting)

Leave a Reply

