Gourdon

On Monday, LTC (little tiny child) and I went for a little drive. We drove up the hill behind our house which led us to a hilltop community called Gourdon.

It is a windy drive. Up and up and up the hill – I really didn’t know where I was going, I was just in between morning nap and afternoon nap/picking up the older child from school and since my credit card had been blocked, I couldn’t go shopping, so I decided to take a drive and get out of the house. I knew that the little village of Gourdon was up on the hill, but didn’t know it was really so close to the house.

Here is one of the pullouts on the drive up. You can see the Sea waaaay out there…

Gourdon was built in the 9th century(!) and rebuilt in the 16th century. It is a little village made modern (or touristy) with tiny little shops and brasseries tucked into the buildings selling sweets for the kids and sachets of lavender for the tourists.

There is a little perfumerie business going on up there too.

You enter the little village and you see the view above, and you can’t see the ground ahead. You walk a little further and then you see the view!

But, you have to stop at the little shops before you get to the view!

But, back to the view…

It is amazing. Who knows why this little village was built. Was it to watch out for invaders? Was it to get away from the invaders? Who knows. All I know was it was a neat little afternoon trip right in our backyard.

This piece of art made me think of Meaghan:

Here is the place for love:

I love the windows! And the shutters! And the flower boxes! Sorry for all the exclamation points. I’m still having way too much fun.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

